Home » Lifestyle » Homeschool » A Schooling Update

A Schooling Update

I have finally ordered my school supplies!!!

I got everything on my list and then some so we are all set. I don’t even think I will need to buy anything mid-year, with the only possibly exception being the next Spelling Workout book if Jordyn goes quickly enough through this one. The goal is to complete 8 books in 6-7 years, but the easiest book is the first one, so getting a head start is a good thing. I think I have to wait a little bit for her reading level to improve, it is currently her weakest subject.

After reading quite a bit on the Simply Charlotte Mason website, I found a lot of helpful information. See, Charlotte Mason is very similar to classical education in many ways, so they combine nicely together. Despite the fact that a classical education would like me to tie my literature/reading selections to my history timeline, I am thinking that there are a lot of really good books out there that I would much rather read to Jordyn than children’s versions of myth and folklore. Those will eventually be read, when her logic and comprehension levels are much more stable. So here is Jordyn’s first grade reading list (these books will be read TO her, not by her):

The Lion Storyteller Bedtime Book (selections)

Stories From Around the World (selections)

Summer with the Moodys

Autumn with the Moodys

Winter with the Moodys

Spring with the Moodys

Summer Days with the Moodys

Charlotte’s Web

Stuart Little

Mr. Popper’s Penguins

The Trumpet of the Swan

The Complete Collection of Winnie-the-Pooh

Peter Pan and

The Milly-Molly-Mandy Storybook

I will let her select which one she wants to read next, except the seasonal Moody books. We probably won’t make it all the way through this list, but that is okay. I will also (likely) be reading more than one book at a time for variety, maybe not…we’ll see.

I did manage to find some beginning readers that I think I’ll like, also recommendations from the SCM website. They are the Phonics Pathways Readers and they can be purchased through Rainbow Resource Center. I got the first three, which all look to be above her current reading level, which is fine. She is progressing nicely through her reading primer, BUT, lately, she has developed a complete aversion to reading off the page. The only way that we can make it through her reading lesson is for me to write the words on our white board for her to read. Suddenly, all her reading problems go away…it’s like magic!

I am into scheduling out our school year in earnest now, waiting impatiently for my books to come in the mail. I’m starting with history, since I already have the history book. It’s going to be good!!!

Leave a Reply

