Home » FISH » Tri for 12 Weeks » Motivation

Motivation

Today is technically Day 5 of my “new goals” but it’s not working out the way I had planned.

First off, we don’t have a gym membership, so swimming and biking are out of the question (since we don’t own bikes, yet). I suppose we could have been running, but we have sick kids, it’s snowing right now, and the list goes on. My diet has consisted of more junk food than normal, to include pizza and ice cream, BUT I have been faithfully taking my diet pills. So hurrah for that.

What I’ve been thinking about lately is that I am not going to accidentally get into shape. It won’t be a mistake that I am able to complete a triathlon on May 23, 2010. I am not just going to wake up one day and have an epiphany and suddenly be perfect. That’s what I’ve been waiting for! Sure, I will tell you that I know that you have to try to lose weight by eating healthy foods and exercising, but read my archives…this isn’t new information for me! I’ve been thinking that suddenly, I will have the right motivation to get it done. That it’s about wanting it or feeling good. It’s not. Motivation is dead. There is so such thing.

There is, however, self-control and discipline. It is self-control and not motivation that forces you to eat (drink) a healthy life-supporting smoothie in the morning instead of slurping your way through three cups of coffee until the shakes set in and you realize  that you’ve had nothing to eat all day. It is discipline and not motivation that gets you up and out the door and in to the gym for your morning workout. Motivation is just what makes you feel like you want something, self-control and discipline are your means of actualizing whatever it is that motivates you.

There is an important distinction for my mind that I am trying to get through its thick surface. I can do this, but it’s not going to be easy. It will be hard and painful and there are going to be a lot of days that I just plain don’t want to go to the gym. It is at those times that I need the determination to succeed, not really the motivation. In my last post, I got a comment from Brad, and one particular thing that he said stands out to me:

Believe in yourself. Your family and friends can believe in you but you are the one that matters most. If you can’t get your brain into the zone that says “I can do it”, you will quit with a bag full of regrets.

He is right. Believing in yourself is the key, but it’s not enough. You have to follow through. So, I ask you, why is it so hard to do exactly what we know that we want to do?

I have high hopes for this week. Despite the sick(ish) kiddos, and the snow, we are planning on heading to the local Y for our first attempt at doing something that we don’t (necessarily) feel motivated to do (at that moment). If we just can’t, I am forcing myself to do one of my workout videos first thing. Despite all that, I think I’ve actually lost a little weight! Official weigh-in days are going to be Mondays and Thursdays and I will be taking a picture of myself every week (probably on Monday). It’s like pregnancy pictures in reverse!

ps. I added a new category just for these weeks, called “Tri for 12 weeks”

Leave a Reply

