Home » Womanhood » Crafting » Why I Don’t Like Numbers

Why I Don’t Like Numbers

I have been working frantically on crafty projects lately. Almost to the exclusion of all else. Almost.

Anyway, I am planning on making a quilt for each of my children for Christmas, which has become an overwhelming project. Not to mention that my daughter (and I) are (still) out of clothes to wear. Although, Jordyn did get a few nice play dresses from Eric’s co-worker, which is getting her by for right now. I just don’t have enough and what I do have is awful.

Here come the numbers: I cut strips for the nine-patch blocks for my kids’ quilts. I cut all of them precisely 13 inches long. After all, my blocks were going to be 6 inches square and that is the double after seam allowance that I came up with. You might need to know at this point, that alternating with the nine-patch blocks, are going to be simple 6 inch squares and I did my math for those squares first. If you note, a 6 inch square doubled would be 12 inches, but, HA, you need to add seam allowances and their are four (top and bottom, twice) in these blocks. At 1/4 inch, my math is SPOT ON. Everything worked out great, the 72 (ish) blocks that I cut out for my children’s quilts are exactly 6 1/2 inches square. Perfect. Problem is, I knew that those squares were correct and I just assumed that it would be perfect for my nine-patches. I guess I didn’t really think because if I had, I would have remembered that when cutting long strips to be sliced for the patches in a nine-patch block, their would be more than 2 seam allowances…there would be TWELVE!!! Basically, it boils down to: I was 3 inches short on every strip, for both quilts. Now I approxiamately (because I refuse to do the real math now) 15 blocks short on each quilt.

Are you confused yet? My head is still swimming and it is 2 in the morning (which is another number problem!) and I just finished making a tent dress which makes me gain about 100 pounds just by putting it on, really. I think I am giving up on dresses. They will flatter my figure when I’ve lost an additional 50-75 pounds. In the meantime, I will stick with button down blouses and 6 gore skirts. Simple to sew, simple to tailor, simple to change (ish). It’s not ideal, but it will have to do. Now what do I do with all this yardage that I bought for DRESSES???

One thought on “Why I Don’t Like Numbers

  1. I don’t know what style dress you made, but what about trying a dress with a button front and gored skirt? Darts can help shape too. I put some into a (tent) dress and now like it much better. Also, some types of large prints can add the pounds no matter the dress.

    Your seam allowance problem sounds frustrating. Glad you figured out what the problem was though.

Leave a Reply

