Home » FISH » Diet Strategy » Diet, Health, and Pregnancy

Diet, Health, and Pregnancy

Two days ago, my sister called me up to tell me that she is pregnant. Of course, I’m thrilled because Kelly and Jared are great parents, but I was a little sad because Kelly and I had been talking about being pregnant together for a pretty long time now. It hit me that I was no closer to getting pregnant that I was several months ago. Discouraging and disappointing. However, the good news was that my husband has agreed that we should have more children.

Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward. As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth. Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate. -Psalm 127: 3-5

So, the other day, I made an appointment with the public health doctor’s office to have my evil Mirena IUD removed. I have hated it from the day I got it, though I was persuaded that it was okay, that it was hormonal and therefore I wouldn’t be ovulating. After more research, I find that is absolutely not true and I have been desperate to remove it ever since, even venturing to see if my husband could do it (which he couldn’t). My appointment is scheduled for November 19, 2009 and I couldn’t be more thrilled. Because it is “public health” I had to accept a different form of birth control and I chose condoms, which we will likely never use.

Eric has already been suggesting dates to try to get pregnant at or around Christmas, and I whole-heartedly accept that idea…BUT, I am still overweight- obese even. I would love to have a natural childbirth and give birth at home. In order to do that, you need to have a healthy pregnancy. I am sure that I could have a healthy pregnancy, but I am at a significant risk for high blood pressure and gestational diabetes. In addition, heavy mothers tend to have heavy babies and those babies don’t always come out so well, which leads to an increase in the likelihood of a C-Section. Not at all natural.

I decided that it was HIGH TIME that I get my act in gear. When I thought of a healthy lifestyle, the first thing I thought of was Perfect Weight America. The book is fantastic and though it is really challenging, I would love to be healthy for my baby. So, my goal is to follow the plan for two months, which takes me all the way to the end of December. Perfect timing. I anticipate that I will lose weight during this process, however, that is not my main goal. My goal is to get healthy. That means that I want both my diet and my activity level to reflect a healthy lifestyle. If my weight hasn’t caught up in two months (which it likely won’t), then I will either keep on losing weight on the diet or I will get pregnant and continue with healthy lifestyle choices.

It may be simple, but it is definitely NOT easy. If you notice on the top, I added another category, called FISH, where I will post notes about my diet strategy, food choices, and progress reports. Expect to see plenty of information on the main page as well. For example:

Today was the first day of my diet and I chose to start with a 10 day cleanse. For more information about Perfect Weight America and the 10 Day Cleanse, see my FISH link on top.

My weight is 191 (YIKES!!!)

My planned meals were pineapple, apple, chicken soup, chicken soup, and finally a large vegetable salad with 1/2 an avocado and 2 tablespoons of dressing. Water consumption about 140 ounces (3/4 oz per pound of weight)

What I really ate was: small serving of pineapple (not enough), whole apple (I didn’t eat the seeds πŸ™‚ ), small serving of chicken soup puree, and a large salad. I drank over 100 ounces of water.

I felt…like junk. My sister made coffee for breakfast (which is my standard breakfast fare) and my mom finished her day with cookies (of which the smell kept wafting up the stairs to torment me- she may have done it on purpose…I’ll never know. πŸ™‚ ). Truly, I was hungry for much of the day, but I didn’t eat enough according to the plan and it was the first day, so it is to be expected. I was craving whatever was in front of me, but I didn’t splurge…except with the dressing on my salad. Tomorrow, fewer ingredients will go into my salad and I will try a new healthy dressing. I am excited about tomorrow.

I will post pictures and measurements in the FISH section tomorrow.

4 thoughts on “Diet, Health, and Pregnancy

  1. HI πŸ™‚
    I found your blog thru a link on my feedjet on my blog. Im so glad to find you, your blog is great!! I love your sense of humor…you are HILARIOUS and ADORABLE!!! :):) Ill be back again sometime.
    Big hugs for just making me smile today,
    candy πŸ™‚

  2. I just noticed you have my blog listed on your blogroll!!!! WOW, thank you!!! πŸ™‚ You are a dear! I will add your blog to my computer favs and later when/if I ever get around to adding friends to my blog sidebar, I will add yours too!!! πŸ™‚

  3. Hi Kristi,

    I was happy to see that you have joined Candy’s Homekeeper’s Weight Loss Challenge! I hope you do well and hope you have a healthy baby in your future!

Leave a Reply

