Home » Writing » Simple Woman's Daybook » Simple Woman’s Daybook

Simple Woman’s Daybook

For more information on how to participate, see this website.

Today is: Monday, October 26, 2009

Outside my window: The sun is shining, but we are expecting snow tomorrow or Wednesday. Loving the Colorado fall, though Washington’s was more spectacular.

I am thinking: About birth control or the lack thereof, but that’s a private matter.

I am thankful for: My husband, who goes to work for me and the kids everyday, even when he doesn’t want to.

From the kitchen: Potato-chicken soup. My mom’s creation when she found out how fattening “real” potato soup is. Instead of a cream-based broth, my mom used homemade chicken stock. She makes a roux with butter and flour, adds the broth along with a stalk (or two) of celery and a carrot or two, both chopped the way that you like to eat them and a chopped onion. In a separate pot she cooks two medium-large sized potatoes that have been chopped (like for mashed potatoes). Once they are cooked through, drain and add to the soup pot. Season with salt, pepper, a little thyme and whatever else sounds nice. Bring to a boil and then simmer until the veggies are tender. You can add shredded chicken if you have it on hand. Serve in a big bowl with cheese, sour cream, chives and bacon on top. Or serve with crusty bread and cheese. Or serve. Or, just get a spoon and stand in front of the stove. It’s all good!

I am wearing: My denim skirt, a pink tanktop, covered up by a tan pull-over sweater. Hair is pulled up in a claw-clip.

I am creating: Christmas gifts (see previous post!)

I am going: to stay at home today.

I am reading: The History of the Ancient World, by Susan Wise Bauer. She is the author of the history text that I want to use next year with Jordyn (The Story of the World, volume 1) and since it is a 4 year chronological history program, I wanted to see how she deals with some “sensitive” areas, for example, Greek and Roman mythology. It’s a good book so far.

I am praying: for wisdom in dealing with touchy family issues, for even more wisdom in dealing with our finances.

I am hearing: The sound of The Berenstein Bears on my TV, cars driving past the window, Jordyn is “playing dinosaur,” Noah saying “I wuh you”

Around the house: Monday laundry day. I am teaching Jordyn to do her own laundry.

One of my favorite things: Sleeping in and cuddling as a family in our big bed.

A few plans for the week: Cleaning out the back room, crafting and creating up a storm

A picture I am sharing: the kids at the Historical Musuem, in a tepee.

Kids in Tepee

2 thoughts on “Simple Woman’s Daybook

  1. Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog. To answer your question… I saved the ‘simple woman’ as a photo and then all you have to do is upload it as a photo. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

