Home » Womanhood » Dressing » Headcovering?

Headcovering?

I have been researching the topic of Biblical modesty for quite some time now (as frequent readers well know) and now yet another topic concerning Biblical modesty comes up; the topic of headcovering during prayer and prophesying. According to 1 Corinthians 11: 2-16 we see Paul discussing either sex wearing a head cover. He states pretty literally (not speaking in figurative terms) that it is a disgrace for men to cover their heads and for women, it is a disgrace for them to be UNCOVERED! I never knew this before. I remember my mom mentioning to me that when she was a girl, she was required to cover her head in church, even it it meant pulling a tissue out of her purse. However, at some point, for some reason, that practice stopped. I have read a good article on the subject at this website: http://www.kingshouse.org/headcovering.htm. I would completely encourage anyone to go visit it (you should be able to click on the link) because it really made me think. I didn’t go out and buy a bunch of headcoverings, though I have looked for some that look a little more modern and not so “Islamic” in style. Interesting that we would associate a Jewish and Christian practice now more with Islam than the original religion! Anyway, this topic is fascinating me right now, as is modest, feminine clothing. Tell me what you think!

Leave a Reply

